Faculty Resource Guide

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg is an online library of over 60,000 free eBooks with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks.

OpenStax

OpenStax is a nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University that publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.

OER Commons

A digital public library and collaboration platform launched by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME). Search through a vast collection at varying levels and subject which can include textbooks, courses, and ancillary materials. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.

The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)

The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) helps you find Open Educational Resources. Unlike other OER discovery sites with MOM you aren’t searching a database that was built. Instead, MOM is real-time federated search that helps you search for OER content. So it is a real-time, federated search; that simultaneously searches across 22 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the search button.

MERLOT

The Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) provides access to tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers. All intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.

Libretexts

Libretexts is a subject-based platform that hosts textbooks and supplemental resources. It includes built in remixing tools to allow instructors to easily adopt and customize existing OER. It’s well known for its interactive content, like 3D visualizations and simulations, embedded multimedia, annotations, and Jupyter notebooks.

Open Textbook Library

A collection of openly-licensed textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty and staff from several of colleges and universities. These textbooks can be download for no cost or printed for a low cost. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.

Press Books

Pressbooks is a web-based publishing tool and directory that provides an index of 4,981 books published across 143 Pressbooks networks. Their directory is free to use and contains all of their publications, which many are openly licensed. Their publishing tool allows authors (with a subscription) to easily import content and export the resulting publication to a variety of formats, including MOBI, EPUB, and PDF.s.

Lumen Learning

Lumen Learning offers complete courses composed of mostly open materials that can be copied and adapted for free. It provides engaging, interactive content such as text, video, simulations, practice questions, etc.; these materials are accessible and mobile-friendly, as well as low cost and highly effective.

MyOpenMath

MyOpenMath is designed for mathematics, providing delivery of homework, quizzes, and tests with rich mathematical content. Does require a login and it is free to sign up!

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg is an online library of over 60,000 free eBooks with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks.

Vimeo

Browse the Creative Commons licensed videos on Vimeo. Learn about what you can and can't do with other people’s videos on Vimeo to help you share, rework and reuse legally.

Medpix

A free online Medical Image Database with over 59,000 indexed and curated images, from over 12,000 patients. This database has medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics for personal or educational use.

Pixabay

Over 2.7 million+ high quality stock images, videos and music shared by our talented community. Pixabay provides royalty free images, videos and music, where you are allowed to download, modify, distribute, and use them for anything you like, even in commercial applications.

NLM Digital Collections

National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Digital Collections provides access to the NLM's distinctive digital content in the areas of biomedicine, health care and the history of medicine. NLM's digital collections are freely available for download worldwide and in the public domain unless otherwise indicated.

TED Talks

TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. Meanwhile, independently run TEDx events help share ideas in communities around the world. Inspiring thinkers on a range of subjects present big ideas and lectures on a regular basis- completely CC licensed.

NLM's Visible Human Project

The NLM Visible Human Project has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Specifically, the VHP provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver. The Visible Man data set was publicly released in 1994 and the Visible Woman in 1995. You will have to download the data/pictures.

Flickr

Flickr is a media platform used for uploading, organizing, and sharing digital media such as photos and videos. It houses a lot of media and allows users to openly license their content which can be used in various ways depending on the license.

Pexels

Pexels provides high quality and completely free stock photos licensed under the Pexels license. All photos are nicely tagged, searchable and also easy to discover through our discover pages. High resolution photos, no attribution required.

Youtube

Youtube has a plethora of videos ranging all of the topics, these videos have a variety of licenses. For open licensed videos use "Filters" to limit to videos in the Creative Commons.

This case concluded that inline linking does not directly infringe copyright because no copy is made on the site providing the link; the link is just HTML code pointing to the image or other material. 

Pay extra attention to the license for each video you intend to use.

The Noun Project

The Noun Project is a website that aggregates and catalogs symbols that are created and uploaded by graphic designers around the world. Most icons are free to use and download with attribution, some are in the public domain.

International Music Score Library Project

The International Music Score Library Project or Petrucci Music Library contains recordings and scores from the public domain.

Be sure to read the licensing information to determine any use restrictions.​

Free Music Archive

The Free Music Archive (FMA) is a library of free, legal audio downloads directed by the WFMU - a freeform radio station. Inspired by the open source movement and Creative Commons, the songs provided are openly licensed under terms set by the individual artists.

Be sure to read the licensing information to determine any use restrictions.

Vimeo

Browse the Creative Commons licensed videos on Vimeo. Learn about what you can and can't do with other people’s videos on Vimeo to help you share, rework and reuse legally.